top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCourtnie Newcomb

Work Smarter: Finding a balance?

As with all things, what you put into it is what you'll get back from it. If you have have a dream and you organize it into goals, every small step brings you closer to your ultimate success of that dream. But what is the balance between working smarter and not harder yet working hard to accomplish your goals and make your dreams come true?


My Dad is a workaholic. He has always been a good provider, even during the moments he struggled, because he has always been so dedicated and loyal to his work. Yet, he always made it to every sport games my brothers and I played, he was at every birthday, there for every holiday and never missed out on a family occasion. He never became rich, he and my Mom definitely had their share of struggles as most people do, but he never let the struggles prevent him from continuing to work. Perhaps that was a blessing and a curse in many ways. He definitely showed me the value of working hard for a living yet still being there for your family but like most people, he worked hard for a living not necessarily a dream.


Somewhere in between just living and making your dreams come true there has to be a middle ground. I wish I could tell you what this is, but the truth is, I'm still searching for that. There's so much I have on my dream list and so many goals to achieve to get there that sleep is a rare luxury. I can usually be found working on my blogs, my sites and/or scouring the internet for the next day deals all while everyone else is sound asleep. During the day, I feel like I'm glued to my phone in between making meals, chasing kids, and trying to be a good Mom. I toss off the unhealthy amount of screen time as me trying to accomplish something and, well, I am.


Why?


Truth is, when all is said and done, when I am on my last breaths of life, I don't want to look back knowing I didn't do all I could to be more than just a wife, just a Mother, just something for someone else other than me. While I want to look back and smile over all the years of raising babies, someday they'll be all grown up and will be on the journey to achieving their own dreams and when that time comes, I want to know I have something to continue living for, continue growing, something that's for me. I know that may sound selfish but Saturday morning softball games, early morning traveling for cheer, all those PTA meetings, parent-teacher conferences, and all things parenthood, it just won't be here forever. I have to have something for me to continue on with.


Until then, finding balance between Motherhood and myself plus getting adequate amounts of sleep and constantly eating right, just aren't a thing. I want to work hard, play harder, and being exhausted will just have to suffice. I know I'll be proud of a little lost sleep in the end. I think it boils down to whether you are working hard for just a living or if you are working hard to build a dream. Both have their struggles, choosing your journey wisely is what makes the difference. I'd rather work hard for a dream than work hard just to scrape by on for a living.


I want to hear from you though! Do you have a secret to balancing it all? What do you do to find quiet? What are your dreams? What are you working hard for? Comment or connect with me through social media, I'd love to hear from you!




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page